Religious Education… in the home {mostly} // {a JEI post}

re

The ladies from The Zelie Group are chatting about religious education today, and I thought I’d join in.

First off, let me state: my background in RE? Absolutely none. I wasn’t raised Catholic, didn’t go to Catholic school, nada. So, the whole teach your child your religion thing was a little intimidating when it first appeared on my radar.

I have found though, that it’s gotten easier. When we first joined the Church (my really, super, long winded Conversion story starts here if you want to read…) our oldest was 3 1/2. At the time there were tons and tons (and tons) of Catholic mommy blogs sharing “ways to bring your faith into the home” sorts of posts. Now, I’m not saying they were bad, no, by all means they were great. But… I wasn’t ready for them. I was still trying to wrap my head around what  was supposed to be/do/say/etc.. and I had no idea how I was supposed to teach ALL THAT to these little kids, and I ended up just very overwhelmed.

{Here’s where I start answering this week’s questions…}

1. Do your children attend your parish’s religious education program? 

Yes and No

Katherine is in 2nd Year First Communion with the parish. So, in that sense, obviously “Yes, we DO use the parish’s RE program”.

But, so far, only for the “Sacrament” Years. The parish offers RE from Kinder through Confirmation (which I think is 10th grade for them). And while it’s highly recommended (and I can totally see the reasoning), we decided not to attend when we started first grade (homeschool) last year. Jared graduated from Seton (Catholic homeschool) and loved their religion program, so I thought, how hard could it be? And we ended up going with that. The other reasons we didn’t go were time commitment and cost.

I have been glad for Katherine to be going this year. Not so much for “new content”, but I’m noticing that she’s picking up on things in a new way from her teacher there. She’s been way more chatty about topics of Faith – maybe to the extent of showing off to her younger brothers – but that’s opened up times of discussion.

We’re still doing a partial religion program at home this year, and I’ve noticed a lot of progress in her understanding (we’re still in the basics here, but still… progress!) Maybe it’s just her age, maybe that whole “Age of Reason” thing really does play into it. But regardless, she’s starting to remember stuff, she’s starting to think things through, and she’s asking SOOOOO MANY QUESTIONS (ohmygoodness… so many questions). But, it’s all good. It’s helping me too 😉

2. Do you or have you ever taught religious education? Tell us about it.

Only with the kiddos at home.
I still feel like too much of a baby Catholic, although it’s been nearly four years, so I guess I’m not so much “baby” any more. Maybe pre-schooler… I don’t know how comfortable I’d be teaching other people’s children.

3. What are your favourite religious education resources for kids?
For the little kiddos (maybe 5 and under?) I think the best thing you can do is just to live your faith. Attend Mass. Pray together. Read Bible stories.

I linked to this post the other day, but this book list is a picture book list for the Jesse Tree, which, in a nutshell, gives an overview of history of Jesus, from creation to his birth. Anyway, she has some really great picture book recommendations for Bible stories, and my kids love listening to them.

For parts of our school work we’re using the resources from Mater Amabilis (we’re in Level 1A). This link is to the General Lesson plans for that level, but the religion section is the first item (after the “General Instruction” section). We have substituted their catechism for the Seton Religion program (it’s there, on that link, that’s just the entire 2nd grade curriculum), but other than that I’ve really been enjoying the book recommendations they’ve put up (on the M.A. site).

~~~

I think that’s all for this evening folks. It’s suddenly than I thought. And I’ve been really REALLY trying to be off electronics for at least a little while before bed. Also, books won’t read themselves 😉

~~~

Blog Hop info

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

4 thoughts on “Religious Education… in the home {mostly} // {a JEI post}

  1. Even being a cradle Catholic, I am still extremely intimidated by the Catholic mommy blogs sharing how they bring faith into their home! I agree with you, though, for younger kids, the BEST way is to live your faith – live it, struggle with it at times, and love it!

    Growing up, if we were in Catholic school (only a couple times during elementary school), my parents didn’t have us attend CCD/RE. So, I fully understand not having your children attend during non-Sacramental years. (In the military, everything is so focused on numbers, I expect to send my children even during non-Sacramental years, but that’s simply because it is *so* different in that aspect!) I also like my children hearing lessons and the Catholic faith taught to them from someone “other than Mom” – when I live in a place without many Mom-friends, it’s nice that they hear it from someone other than me, or other than their own Godmothers. 🙂

    Great insights!

    1. Yes, her hearing the teachings from her teacher is probably the BEST thing she’s getting out of the class. Like, I feel like she already knows the content, but having someone else present it, seems to be making it stick a little more. 🙂
      Thanks for dropping in!

    1. Yes! I was just chatting with my mom about this tonight. Always something else to learn. I remember when I was going through RCIA one of the last conversations I had with one of the teachers was about this, and I was so excited because it hit me and I realized that finishing the class wasn’t the end of all the learning, it was just the beginning 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

