Library Haul {2}

library-haul-title-photo

I’ve been twice to the library since the last of these posts. And apparently I’m not doing very good at paying attention to my piles of books because I had not one, but TWO books out that didn’t get returned on time (that includes the one I just found today… and the library is closed today…. which I also just found out…. *sigh*….)

Anyways, moving on…

20161213_185927

 

ABC Dream by Kim Krans
Oh my goodness, gorgeous illustrations. But… it’s an alphabet book, so there’s not *that* much story line, but the pictures, beautiful.

Before Morning by Joyce Sidman
Basically a wordless story about a little boy who’s mom has to leave to go to work, before morning, but eventually gets snowed in and is able to return home and spend the day with him instead. Illustrations are sweet. Personally I find wordless books almost harder to “read”, but the kids really liked looking at the pictures.

This is Our Baby, Born Today by Varsha Bajaj
Sweet story about the beginning of life. (This was one I returned last week, so I’ve already managed to forget… but I think it was of all the animals welcoming baby elephant to the world.)

The Uncorcker of Ocean Bottles by Michelle Cuevas
About a man who’s job is to uncork all the bottles that wash up on the shore of his particular beach. Love the illustrations.

Why Christmas Trees aren’t Perfect by Dick Schneider

The Night of Las Posadas by Tomie dePaola
So, I actually had never read this one before, and we’re big Tomie fans over here. And it pops up in everyone’s list of “must have” Advent/Christmas books. So this year we managed to read it {albeit after the feast day, but, whatever}. I liked it well enough. I think the kids missed the fact that the people playing Mary and Joseph for Las Posadas was THE Mary and Joseph, but it was still cute and they enjoyed it.

The Very First Christmas by Paul L. Maier
A boy is wanting a true story for his bedtime story, so his mother tells him about the very first Christmas. This is interspersed with his questions and her explanations, which could actually be a good addition to the story. And nicely satisfy a curious child. I only thought it went a little over the kids head.

Lulu’s Birthday by Elizabeth Fitzgerald Howard
The kids are talking with Grandma (Lulu) and trying to come up with a good idea for her birthday party. They think and talk about all the fun things they did over the summer trying to come up with something. A sweet story about Grandma and grandkids and family.

 

20161213_185940

These would have been good if my kids had been a but older. They have to do with math, measuring, and Roman Numerals. They weren’t any of them stories per se, but they presented the concepts in a visual way that I think would work better for kids *slightly older* than mine

How tall, How Short, How Far Away by David A. Adler

How Long or How Wide? a Measuring Guide by Brian P. Cleary

Fun With Roman Numerals by David A. Adler

Also on the return pile:
Fancy Nancy by Jane O’Connor (again… in English this time) and a handful of Disney storybooks and random other twaddle-type books that I try to return as soon as possible. 😉

 

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

