Reading Plans 2017

 

img_20161229_150650_073

Just popping in this evening to share my reading plans for the year.

I’m planning on joining in on The Deliberate Reader’s online bookclub. I did this last year. And while I didn’t join in all the discussion (probably closer to 50% of them), I enjoyed it. She picked books that I wouldn’t have necessarily picked up on my own, so it was a nice way to expand my reading.

  • Animal Vegetable Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver
  • Moloka’i by Alan Brennert
  • Emma by Jane Austen (a re-read)
  • Dark Matter by Blake Crouch
  • Hannah Coulter by Wendell Berry (another re-read)
  • Uprooted by Naomi Novik (won’t be reading this one this year as I jumped the gun and read it in December. Really enjoyed it!)
  • True Grit by Charles Portis
  • The Diamond Age by Neal Stephenson
  • Plainsong by Kent Haruf
  • Funny in Farsi by Firoozeh Dumas
  • Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger
  • Swear on This Life by Renee Carlino

I’m also participating in Well Read Mom. Doing it solo, although I’d love to be able to join/start? a local group if anyone is interested and reads this, let me know, and we’ll see what we can come up with.

The books remaining for this cycle (it started in September) are…

  • I Believe in Love: A Personal Retreat Based on the Teaching of St. Thérèse of Lisieux
    By Jean C. J. d’Elbée (started this and am moving slowly because I’m finding I just need that much time to digest. So far, I’m loving it.)
  • A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith
  • Withering Heights by Emily Brontë
  • The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis (a re-read, but it’s been a few years)
  • Till We Have Faces by C.S. Lewis (another re-read. have actually been wanting to re-read this since I finished it last time)
  • The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien (a re-read, but it’s been… a long time)

So, those are the official reading groups.

~~

I’m also attempting Modern Mrs. Darcy’s reading challenges…. This will be the third year I’m attempting (I’ve yet to actually complete one). But. I’m determined 😉

My main goal for this challenge is to find books on my shelves that will fit into the categories.

Reading for Fun Challenge…
a book you chose for the cover {didn’t chose one yet}

a book with a reputation for being un-put-down-able: Outlander book 4 (blanking on the title)/The Name of the Wind Redwall {haven’t decided yet, maybe all three. I own two of them and the third is on the library hold list}

a book set somewhere you’ve never been but would like to visit: Moloka’i (from above)

a book you’ve already read: Emma 

a juicy memoir: {didn’t pick one… not sure what classifies as “juicy” and also not sure I want to read something with that classification. I enjoy memoirs, so I may just pick something else for this category}

a book about books or reading: The Gurnsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society {that’s bookish right?}

a book in a genre you usually avoid: True Grit {from the bookclub}

a book you don’t want to admit you’re dying to read: Ready Player One {it’s based on video games…. I don’t like video games… but I keep hearing great things about the book…}

a book in the backlist of a new favorite author: His Majesty’s Dragon by Naomi Novik {author of Uprooted from the bookclub}

a book recommended by someone with great taste: A Man Called Ove

a book you were excited to buy or borrow but haven’t read yet: Animal Vegetable Mineral {from the bookclub} OR The Little Oratory

a book about a topic or subject you already love: Art Before Breakfast by Danny Gregory

Reading for Growth Challenge…
a Newbery Award winner or Honor book: Mrs Frisby and the Rats of NIMH {sitting on my shelf, possible read aloud with the kids}

a book in translation: The Little Prince {been wanting to re-read this for a few years now… and it’s short 😉 }

a book that’s more than 600 pages: The Eye of the World {Jared wanted me to read this wholeentireginormousseries last year… I started, but didn’t finish. Going to attempt it.}

a book of poetry, a play, or an essay collection: Joyful Noise: Poems for Two Voices {Will be reading for school with the kids, so two birds and all that}

a book of any genre that addresses current events: Hillbilly Elegy {not sure this qualifies for the category, but I wanted to read it and it sorta kinda fits…}

an immigrant story: Funny in Farsi {from the bookclub}

a book published before you were born: St Thomas Aquinas: The Dumb Ox {wanted to attempt a Chesterton, don’t ask me why I chose THIS one}

three books by the same author: C.S. Lewis OR Louise Penny OR JK Rowling/Robert Galbraith {haven’t decided yet}

a book by an #ownvoices or #diversebooks author: Brown Girl Dreaming {on my list for a while now}

a book with an unreliable narrator or ambiguous ending: ??? {open to suggestions}

a book nominated for an award in 2017: {waiting on this one…}

a Pulitzer Prize or National Book Award winner: Complete Stories by Flannery O’Connor. {Maybe by the end I’ll figure out what’s going on… Seriously though, several stories in and still pretty much just baffled.}

~~

I’m over on Goodreads (just search my name) where I find I’m pretty good about listing the books I read and giving them at least a starred rating if nothing else. So if you want to follow me along over there. I think I might *try* and do a monthly recap on the blog, but no promises.

Off to squeeze in approximately 11 minutes of reading before I fall asleep or Nicki wakes up, whichever comes first!

2 thoughts on “Reading Plans 2017

  1. Looks like way too many books for a mom of five young kids. Don’t push yourself too hard. Just relax and enjoy what you can.

    I read the Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society a few years ago. Really enjoyed it.

    A couple days ago I saw a list of the 21 best books published in 2016. There was a comment that if you can only read one of the 21, you should read Hillbilly Elegy.

    The library sent me For the Glory by Duncan Hamilton, a British writer. The story of Eric Liddell. I thought I wasn’t interested until I dipped into it, then read most of it in one night.

    Not reading anything right now because I am trying to get ready to move later this month. Back to my old neighborhood..

    I have two new books I will start when I can. I try to keep current with magazines. TIME and Christianity Today and a quarterly journal called Christian History. I get some good book ideas from Christianity Today.

    Love, Grandma

    1. Well, last year I finished 60 books, so this list doesn’t feel as big as what I needed up reading last year. But we’ll see. I do keep remembering your comment to “enjoy it”, so that sounds like something I’ll keep doing. 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts on what I've just posted. I do read and truly appreciate all comments. They make me smile!

